PDA

View Full Version : Christmas Day Anxiety

HVC
25-12-10, 12:42
Hi this is my first time on this.. just needed someone to talk to.. I've suffered with anxiety attacks/panic attacks since the age of 14, I'm 43 now. I've been pretty fortunate in I've not had too many bad bouts..the last one was about 2 years ago for a month or so but then my father went ill and was diagnosed with cancer and nursing him for the next four months took me out of myself and gave me something more important to focus on rather than myself. I did have another short episode around this time last year but thankfully getting back into work and normal routine after the holidays put me right again.
The problem is my mother is currently suffering from anxiety herself and over the last week or so I've been going there to talk and reassure her everything will be ok and that she will get through it.. however, in talking about it its stirred up all my feelings and has now kicked it off again. I don't show my husband as he (like so many others) finds it hard to understand and I don't want to spoil Christmas for anyone but feeling very anxious and panicky today and this is really helping ..sorry I've gone on a bit !:)

nomorepanic
25-12-10, 12:43
Hi HVC

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.

Please take some time to read the website articles on the left as well for loads of advice and tips.

Groundhog
25-12-10, 13:03
Hi and welcome

so you have joined the xmas anxiety club:) trust me you are not alone there will be thousands out there battling it-me included.

HVC
25-12-10, 15:48