PDA

View Full Version : feeling really low

candicemarie88
27-12-10, 03:25
I'm 22 years old and suffer from general anxiety, health anxiety, social phobia, ocd and depression. I am currently studying at university and am in my first year.

I have always been a worrier and spent the last few years since my A levels working, living with my parents and pretty much being alone. I have a boyfiend who i've been with 3 1/2 years and three close friends. However, my friends went to uni at 18 and i was too afraid to at the time. I only see them twice a year and since I finished school I made no new friends at work or anywhere. I moved away to go to university in September and have made one fairly good friend, though I don't see her very much since she has other mates who she sees too.

I have a deeply ingrained thought that everyone hates me and this is the reason that people ignore me. I have been told many times that I'm 'boring' and 'no fun', which has added to and maintained the negative thought that eveyone hates me and I am a loser. This caused me to develop social phobia and i have really struggled over the last few years. I find it very hard to go out alone and if i do I disguise myself in sunglasses or a hat, to try and blend in. I was teased at school because of my freckles and height (im 5ft1) and I still replay these events over and over in my head.

I'm often told that I look about 16, since I'm really small and have a really young looking face. My sister is 19 and she looks older than me, people always think im the younger sister and say 'oh, i can't believe you're 19, you don't look 19' and they nearly faint when i tell them im actually 22, nearly 23! Because of this, I still fell like a child and as if i can't grow up. I miss my parents when I'm away at uni and cry myself to sleep most nights because I feel so alone.