PDA

View Full Version : Just wanted to say hello and introduce myself

anx2005
09-01-11, 02:24
I have had diagnosed anxiety since April 7th, 2005. Started with a serious 3 day meltdown that ended me up in the doctors office. I guess you are not supposed to take 3 excedrin at a time, 3 times a day. Yep I was taking 9 excedrin a day. That day I had taken 6 excedrin so far and hadn't eaten anything all day. I spiraled out of control and for 3 days and nights I couldn't sleep, couldn't sit still, went through probably a billion soaking wet wash clothes. Finally on April 7th I went to the doctor. He prescribed Clonidine 0.1mg (I guess it gets you off caffeine without withdrawels- Its a heart drug- I knew that cause I was a heart nurse). Lunest and 0.5mg ativan twice a day. So I took all that and was pretty much a lethargic mess for about 2 weeks. My husband had to walk me to the bathroom it was so bad. I weaned myself off the clonidine slowly and the sleeping pills and I am still on the ativan- just prn now. For 6 months I was still a mess. I finally figured out that some of it was hormones and we got that under control and I got much better.
Anyway every year or two I go through this mode of 3 or 4 months of pure hell then I am pretty tolerable again.
My husband lost his job in July. So I got a job in August. I think that's why I am in such a serious flare up now. Its pretty bad. I have this new obsession that I can't eat. I am afraid of severe anaphylactic food allergy. I have no history of food allergies.

I am a Nurse and have 2 children and a very tolerant but not very understanding husband. He is difficult to live with otherwise but totally great about my anxiety. What I put him through probably makes us even. :)

This site has already helped me some. So thanks and I hope to get continued support and hopefully I can give some support as well!

diane07
09-01-11, 02:26
Hi anx2005