PDA

View Full Version : Panic - my dad is in hospital

paula lynne
09-01-11, 16:31
I try to keep it together most days.
Today is difficult.
Panic bad. Anxiety bad.
Dad in hospital. Loss of memory, dizzy, sudden onset of headache, having spinal tap (now called csf investigations) testing cerebral spinal fluid. Its going to hurt. Something very wrong neurologically. Trying to forget the things I know from neuro nursing, and just be a daughter.
This isnt good. Ct scan and MRI booked for tomorrow.
Im not over loosing my mum. Dont want to do loose him too, gran passed in december.
It seems never ending at the moment.
Is it worse because I have some knowledge, or Im his daughter, or I have anxiety?
Hard work as havent talked to sister since 4th december and she said on facebook Im making the anxiety and panic up for attention. Have to see her later on the ward.
Feeling very stressed.
Already think hes dying. I know the 4 reasons why a doctor would order a spinal tap, and none of them good. Could use a friendly ear. Thanks x

paul75
09-01-11, 16:38
How awful, really feel for you. Try and remain positive, anxiety has a terrible habit of making us think the absolute worst. (Catastrophising)
Try and ignore what your sister has said, you know you are not making it up or attention seeking, her opinion doesn't matter.
There must be people who have had the same thing as your dad and pulled through, never give up hope.

paula lynne
09-01-11, 16:46
Paul, thank you. Yes, it is catastrophising, whether I like to admit it or not. Its so hard to switch off when I have the neuro nursing knowledge, maybe thats giving me these thoughts, and not anxiety. Maybe a mix? I appreciate your reply, thanks so much x

paul75
09-01-11, 16:55
I'm one of the worlds worst at catastrophising so I know how you feel, seeing any family member ill is extremley upsetting, but when you have anxiety it makes it even worse ! If it was very bad he would be having a CT and MRI right now and not tomorrow.