PDA

View Full Version : How do you cope with work?

petalouda
16-01-11, 08:43
I've suffered with anxiety for years but had my first 'real' panic moment at work just before xmas. I'm a university lecturer and was in class, happily delivering a lecture when I spaced out for a second and was filled with complete dread that I'd had a stroke. I spent the rest of the lesson in an ongoing state of panic before excusing myself a few minutes early on the pretence of a meeting and heading for home to have a good cry.

During the following lesson four days later (I only work part-time) I told myself I'd be OK but then working with students on a one-to-one in the IT lab I started to feel 'odd' and again scuttled out of there ASAP. That night I had a full scale panic attack and went on to have a really miserable xmas until I plucked up the courage to go to the docs - she prescribed me Citalopram (10mg) and I've been on it for a couple of weeks.

On the whole I've felt better and was looking forward to getting back to work tomorrow (first lecture of the academic period), but then yesterday I had a panic attack and feel really rough this morning. The thought of lecturing tomorrow and the potential for having another attack in class (I've convinced myself I'm going to have one) is seriously stressing me out (headache, nausea, agitated, etc).

Because of the nature of my job I can't just phone in and say 'I feel rubbish, I'm not coming in' as there will be 50 students sitting in a class waiting for me at 9am! My employer/line manager also doesn't know about this - I'm too embarrassed to tell her - and have recently applied for a full-time job there so didn't want this to affect it (prejudice etc).

How do I cope with this and what are your experiences of living with panics and working, dealing with employers etc? Any other lecturers out there going through this? All advice much appreciated. :weep:

Peta xx

Groundhog
16-01-11, 11:41
Hi Peta