PDA

View Full Version : recovery?

steve71
06-02-11, 08:37
I recently joined this forum and I have been undergoing cbt plus have had many tests, all of which have come up negative. I am now at the stage where my attacks have recently stopped and even if I feel one coming I can use my cbt methods and quickly stop it rising. All good so far but........ I have damaged my muscles, especially in my face, over the last 6 weeks of 24/7 panic/anxiety and I can feel the residue of adrenalines affects still lingering on my body.
Obviously being in recovery I don't these symptoms to suddenly trigger new attacks and was wondering how long the symptoms could last? The muscles in face and the out of body feeling that can creep up on me.
cheers

Steve in recovery

Diva
06-02-11, 10:18
I'm not a doctor but I think you need to allow yourself a good six moths where these feelings might still come and go. The thing is to think ok, I'm getting a twitch (or however it manifests itself) but it's part of my recovery and it will fade with time and continue with your techniques to stop your anxiety taking hold.

You sound like you're doing really well but you need to be kind to yourself and accept that it will take time to go completely.

Well done for your positive progress - keep up the good work.

westofengland
06-02-11, 22:34
you sure? I am no doctor but i don't think adrenaline sticks around and causes permanent damage to face muscles. Have you asked your doctor?
Exercise apparently is a great way to balance your body out after a rush of adrenaline

Greenman50
07-02-11, 00:25