PDA

View Full Version : How long do I have to wait

carolea
06-02-11, 09:08
Hi, Im new to all this. My partner of 14 years walked out on me and our 7 year old son for another woman, 5 months ago. Almost immediately I went in to shock and developed anxiety and panic. I was prescribed valium to help calm me down and 2 weeks ago I was given citralopram. I was told to take 10mg for a week then up to 20mg. I dont feel any better on these, although I know it takes time for them to get in your system. I feel really anxious in the mornings and have to take a valium as soon as I wake up. Iv been getting mild side effects from the citralopram, nothing compared to what I was going through anyway. Some advice would be gratefully recieved x

sammi
06-02-11, 10:41
So sorry to hear about what your going through. I was on cit last year and it took about 8 weeks to take full effect but when they did I felt great. Everyone is different and they may work quicker for other people. Hang in there xx

chrisl
06-02-11, 16:43
I really understand what you are going throw i was in a similar situation and its a massive life changing situation you are in . the doctor put me on cit and i also tried a few other meds but i was unable to cope with the side effects :ohmy: . Its been a very long road for me and its still hard some days . You will find it very hard to see the light at the end of the tunnel but one day you will. Just take one day at a time, take care and i hope things improve for you soon :hugs:

paula lynne
06-02-11, 16:44
A belated welcome to the forum. You're not alone. You'll find lots of support and advice here, and make some great friends along the way too. We are all here for you x:welcome:

carolea
06-02-11, 18:44