PDA

View Full Version : Reaction to Sertraline :-(

clairly
13-02-11, 16:41
Hi, i'm Claire, this is my first time posting, although i've browsed here as a guest before!!:)

I had to call emergency doctor this morning to get advice over the phone. It would have been day 6 of taking Sertraline today, but this medicine scares the life out of me and it doesn't agree with me at all.
I've tried different ones and never experienced anything like this in my life.
I've literally not slept in about 3 days, an hour here and there if im lucky, been having massive panic attacks (which i never had before, just anxiety and low mood) and at certain times of the day sheer terror would hit me and i'd be so scared i would cry
The doctor i spoke to recommended i stop immediately and go and see my GP about something else tomorrow.
He also said its 50-50 with this you either love it or hate it, its good for some but has the opposite affect on others its been a week of hell to be honest, i've been having thoughts of being sectioned, my kids being without me etc.
I'm now scared to try anything new, its really put me off. I might ask about my original Meds Cipralex (escilatoprem) but i think they were for depression rather than anxiety.
Im so disapointed i've had to stop this, but i think i would have mentally broke down if i hadn't through insomnia, panic and terror
Just so sad and miserable right now, don't know were to go next and when i will feel better from taking these, when will they be out of my system?

musicaldave
13-02-11, 21:04