PDA

View Full Version : Virus/cough - need reassurance

jothenurse
16-02-11, 16:51
I've had a fever for 5 days. Went to work yesterday, but only stayed a half of day. I had gone to get checked yesterday and they said my lungs were clear. Lots of people around me and in town have everything from step to pneumonia to sinus infections.
I'm getting really nervous because I still have a fever. I called Urgent Care (our walk in clinic that I went to yesterday) to ask them about the fever or coughing up some green in my phlegm and they said that as long as my lungs were clear yesterday then it should be ok. Also, that some people have been running a fever for a week, and the cough hangs on for along time. It was good to cough the stuff out. I'm a nurse, and I keep trying to reassure myself, but I get a little short of breath, and I get scared. I get this with anxiety, too, but I think I have a little bronchitis, so that can make your chest tight. So, I'm trying not to panic. It's hard to go to work, but when I'm at work, I don't focus in on my anxiety as much. But with the fever, I've had to stay home today. Help.

macgic123
16-02-11, 17:04
in my experience anxiety makes any illnesses last much much longer. If the docs said your lungs were clear then they were. Anxiety can cause all sorts of symptoms from really high temperature to feeling really cold and if you already have these then they may just be being magnified. However it is best to get things checked out if they persist. im sure you'll be fine though :)

jothenurse
16-02-11, 17:17
Thanks for your reply. I'm trying to stay calm, but it is hard.

Pinkella
16-02-11, 17:31