PDA

View Full Version : Wanting to exercise

peter34uk
19-02-11, 13:05
Hi all,

Ive suffered from awareness of the heart beat, palps and ectopics for about 7 years now.

Im constantly checking my pulse to make sure its between 70-80bpm during the day and less than 70bpm before i go to sleep. (It drives me mad)

I walk up the stairs or walk up a slight incline to the train station and I can feel my heart racing and pounding out of my chest.

So for a long time I been afraid to exercise for not wanting to get my pulse up too fast and fear it wont come back down again.

So im basically asking if anyone else has had this and what did you do to overcome it?

Can I overcome it or just accept it for what it is and not bother!

Id really like to get fit. I watched the Fighter at cinema last night & as I used to be an amateur boxer myself, Im upset I cant get myself fit and over come it.

I live constantly in fear of palpitations so generally do nothing to raise my pulse if i can help it.

Any advice would be appreciated.

nomorepanic
19-02-11, 13:07
Palpitations are not harmful so yes you should just accept it and get exercising!

Groundhog
19-02-11, 14:30
Iv’e banged on about exercising on here loads of times and can’t advocate it enough. My advice is see your doctor and tell him/her you want to start an exercise programme and do you a referral letter explaining your disposition so you can take it to a gym (or boxing club or whatever). Any gym that is professionally manned (i.e not your local hotel leisure suit where you are left to your own devices) will be able to tailor you a programme to suit your and your docs pre-requisites. If in doubt ask at the gyms if they do GP referrals, known as a Par-Q. The gym I use have special sessions and for sure if I go during the day there are always loads of obviously health challenged users.

Absolutely go for it but make sure you go through the correct processes.

peter34uk
19-02-11, 16:30
Cheers guys. Will give it my level best!