PDA

View Full Version : Hello I'm another newbie

Bagrat
21-02-11, 21:56
Hi everyone. I am 66 and a Granny!! Have always been an anxious person. When I was working I was too busy ( I was a nurse) to suffer from anxiety. I saved it up for when I retired. My husband had heart probs 6 years ago ( I was lucky retired at 60) and I came out in sympathy with chest pain etc etc. All OK as I had a good GP who checked me out. Since then I've had bouts of anxiety/panic attacks resulting in a variety of physical symptoms. I have managed to get some sort of control over them, with the help of some good books and understanding friends. But my body seems to dream up new ones when I get on top of the familiar ones!! I have now had two episodes of Atrial Fibrillation and must say that for me it was not half as scary as when I had ( have?) panic attacks. I have read of people on here who are frightened of the thought of Afib. Please try not to be freaked by it. It's controllable.

diane07
21-02-11, 21:57
Hi Bagrat

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

Vanilla Sky
21-02-11, 22:02
Hi and welcome to NMP :welcome:
Paige x

paula lynne
21-02-11, 22:28
Hi there, good to have you on the forum. I was a neurosurgical nurse before anx and agoraphobia took my career away, there are a few carers/nurses here....you arent alone. Its good to have you with us, welcome.:welcome:

Bagrat
22-02-11, 10:17
Thank you for your welcome. There's something about being a Health Care Professional that makes people think you should be able to cope. What has helped me a lot is telling quite a few peopole about my anxiety - I've found there are a lot of us about. I don't like to worry the family unless it's obvious - then I have no choice!!:roflmao::roflmao::roflmao:This emoticon so reminds me of ME!!

JUSTICE4THE96
22-02-11, 13:18