PDA

View Full Version : new to forum and looking for fellow 'sufferers'

skiteacher
03-04-06, 22:17
Hi,
I've come rather late to this, I've been suffering from panic attacks and generalised anxiety for 10years up and down. It all reared up recently because I was (left on Friday:)) being harassed and generally not having a great time at all in my job (i'm a teacher) Over the last 2 years it feels like l've been reduced to nothing, through harassment my management, stress and then anxiety and then finally my physical health given up. However, I did come off antidepressants a month ago, becuase i felt that most of the reasons I was so low were not about panic attacks but a total lack of self esteem and my life had become so small. I didn't know what negative effects the drugs were having and they weren't solving the low level anxiety and depression about my crap life. I am sitll taking sleeping tablets mainly becuase I get so low in the evening I just want to hide away from myself. Coming off the anti depressants has been a postive step, no withdrawal or reuccurance of attacks.

SO since Friday my sole aim in life is to build a life. Not to hide away, to rebuild my self as a teacher and most importantly find friends a social life and activity. See if the person I can remember in my distance memories from about 5 years ago could be possible again. #

And I've just watched 'THe wedding date' with Debra Messing, a lovely film, but just made me upset that I don't have friends and guys around me.

Just putting this out to introduce myself, sorry if it doesn't make much sense!

Paddington
03-04-06, 22:48