PDA

View Full Version : Driving Test Phobia - Help!

Kate31
12-03-11, 20:24
Hello everyone, I failed my 1st driving test at 17 years old as I was immature and had a serious accident. Since that time I've had 5 further driving tests: 2 of which I failed due to extreme nerves; one I had to stop mid-way through due to a panic attack, and the last two I couldn't even get into the waiting room at the test centre as I had a serious panic attack before each test in the instructor's car!:weep:

The odd thing is I have no other history of panic attacks and in general I'm good at passing exams. My instructors all say I'm a good driver when not in a test situation. This is my only phobia, but it's a serious one. It's taken 20 years of my life and destroyed my self-esteem. And I really need that licence!

So far I've tried NLP and home hynotherapy recordings, but they haven't helped much.

Should I ask my doctor for anti-anxiety medications? Has anybody else had any experience of this phobia? Any suggestions very gratefully received!

Thanks! :)

Deepest Blue
12-03-11, 23:16
Hi Kate,

I am in exactly the same situation as you with this. I've failed two tests but that's only because I even panic about booking them. In all honestly, with all the years I've been taking driving lessons I should have been driving by now but I also bottle it. I only booked those two tests because my instructor did if for me. I have tried so many ways to try and not feel so anxious during test but I can't help myself, the feelings just continue to overwhelm me and during the tests I can feel myself really tensing up, sweating, breathing really fast and all the other symptoms you get with panic and even with all this I only fail with too many minors in the same area which is because I am not driving smoothly so the clutch control, timing of the gear changes and so forth not being timed correctly because of course I am anxious.