PDA

View Full Version : First timer,10mgCit,Anxiety,lethargy vs exercise

treacletart
24-03-11, 21:08
Hi:yahoo:

This is my first time on Citalapram, I suffer from anxiety which has worsened in the last 4 months hence the medication, decided to do something about it once and for all. And yes have tried therapy and life coaching (fab) but right now need something to take the edge off.

Its my 3rd week, side effects have been heart palpitations, dry nose (but today runny), itchy skin, slight diarrhea, vivid dreams (I take my tab in the morning so go figure), uninterested in whats going on around me but worst for me is the lethargy. Before starting on the tabs I was running 3-4 time a week and ran my first half marathon a month ago. Havent felt like running AT ALL but today dragged myself up and out and FORCED myself to run as I have another half marathon the beginning of June and really need to put in the training. Today was like running through treacle, I could have walked faster!

Does anyone else out there run/jog/gym/cycle? Will the lethargy wear off? I'm determined to give the citalapram a chance but don't want to give up running either.

Just also wanted to say that its been great reading everyone's stories, I only read the positive ones and its really helped me along this journey.

TreacleTart X

diane07
24-03-11, 21:10
Hi treacletart

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

anxious_girl
28-03-11, 15:26
Hiya
I get the lethargy but it's acutally the anxiety that makes me tired - like an overwhelming tiredness, not my meds. Sometimes even making a cup of tea feels like I'm climbing a mountain. When this happens I just have to give myself time. I don't go to the gym for weeks, but I try and do lots of walking so I at least get some exercise and just give my body the sleep it needs until I start to feel more normal again.

oldtime
28-03-11, 15:40