PDA

View Full Version : Hello

JSE
01-05-11, 11:32
Hello Everyone,

I have been suffering with anxiety and depression since I was about 15 (now 21). I have tried all kinds of therapies, drugs, and techniques with varying degrees of success. I have joined the forum to hopefully offer some advice to fellow suffers as I feel I have learnt a great deal about the subject.

I am also currently on a 'recovery plan' (probably my 100th different plan to change myself...). Although this plan is quite different because it involves acceptance rather than change. I am pursuing a self taught programme of mindfulness. Maybe I can convince others to look into this rather brilliant philosophy.

Anyway, I won't go on. I look forward to bumping into you all around the forum!

diane07
01-05-11, 11:34
Hi JSE

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

theoldcorner
01-05-11, 13:32
Hi there, How does the mindfulness programme work in practice?

paula lynne
01-05-11, 13:57
Welcome, nice to have you with us x
:welcome:

JSE
01-05-11, 17:36
Hi there, How does the mindfulness programme work in practice?

Hi,

The Mindfulness programme has become a part of my life over the last 2 months. At first I didn't feel it made much difference, and the time you have to dedicate can seem overwhelming at first. But I have slowly begun to notice that ruminating thoughts have a shorter life span, which is something I never achieved before! I am also generally more relaxed and the physical symptoms of anxiety seem to be much less annoying (particularly IBS).