PDA

View Full Version : Breathing problems for 3 weeks...

MatthewH
13-05-11, 18:16
Ive been having problems with my breathing. It seems that when im trying to relax that i get worried about not being able to take a 'proper' breath. I feel out of breath, and when i try to take a deep one it feels like i cant fill my lungs the first or second time. I know that theres nothing wrong with me medically (i dont think so anyway!) and ive been putting it all down to anxiety which ive had for a few years. Im off to the doctor on tuesday after years of putting up with social and general anxiety. Ive been once before, but i was given beta blockers with instructions to use them 'Before i think i would need them'. Not great advice when i cant predict the future!
When i go out i sometimes get short of breath, but the main problem i have is nausea and being physically sick. I make it worse by worrying beforehand, which in turn makes my symptoms appear, which i then fight to control, making it worse. The thing is, i KNOW im making it worse by fighting, but i cant help it. I feel like such a let down to friends, and i just want to try and get better slowly.
Over the last couple of weeks though, ive become so much worse. I feel like im becoming agrophobic, convincing myself i dont need to go out to have fun, but in truth im miserable. Im about to force myself to go to the supermarket, because i need to get some food in for the weekend, but because of this stupid breathing issue, im worried im going to stop breathing or die. I know in my head im being silly, and i cant help thinking how daft this all is, but because of this breathing thing my chest has started to become painful. It just feels sometimes like my windpipe isnt big enough to 'gulp' down the air.
Anybody give me some reasurrance that can make me snap out of this rubbish train of thought!

KayleighJane
13-05-11, 18:27