PDA

View Full Version : For those who feel stupid

drmark05
15-05-11, 07:09
This is going to sound arrogant, and for this I apologise, but I am a smart person. I have a Masters degree in Communications and a PhD in the same field, and have been teaching at university level for the past 10 years. Having to stand before hundreds of often disinterested teenagers every week and encourage them to learn requires a fair degree of confidence, so it came a somewhat of a shock to have that confidence rocked by health anxiety.

It started not long after I turned 40 - I was giving a lecture and I felt a little dizzy. Normally I would have just dismissed it but for some reason thought I'd check what Google had to say (even though I blast my students for relying on Google). The first three hits were about heart attacks and described pretty much what I was feeling exactly, along with other symptoms I wan't having, such as numbness in the limbs. The next day I got up to give a lecture and sure enough, my left arm began to feel numb. I panicked, feeling short of breath and dizzy, convinced my students were about to be given something really interesting to talk about over lunch. So I canceled the lecture, went straight to the nearest doctors office and told them I thought I was having a heart attack.

I wasn't. They did tests. The reminded me that I can do a 90 minute workout at the gym with no problems. They convinced me that what I was experiencing was an anxiety attack, which was both confronting and relief all mixed into one.

Life went on, my heart didn't stop and I though all was well. Then I found a blemish on my leg, which Google assured me was probably skin cancer. Back to the doctors, back for more tests. All negative, all OK.