PDA

View Full Version : Hi Guys (:

RhyannonDorothy
17-05-11, 12:06
Hi guys, im new to this, im 18 and ive just been told to take 20mg citalopram. ive never taken any medication for my depression and i kinda scared, how will it affect me?

xxx

nomorepanic
17-05-11, 12:07
Hi RhyannonDorothy

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

Spidergirl
17-05-11, 12:38
Hi, the doctors have tried putting me on it twice for anxiety but I did not like it. It takes a few weeks to kick in and I felt numb, never happy and never sad just in the middle. It affects everyone differently tho. Hope this helps

Tyke
17-05-11, 13:40
Hi RhyannonDorothy

I am currently on Sertraline which is a similar kind of drug (SSRI). Like Spidergirl states, they take a while to kick in (mine took five weeks) and the side effects can be unpleasant in the beginning, but in my case I started feeling much better after that. No way of knowing exactly how it will affect you - everyone is different - you just have to see how you get along with it. I never wanted to start taking tablets, but I am now so much improved it won't be too long before I can think about coming off them.

Tyke

Vanilla Sky
17-05-11, 21:09
Hi and welcome to NMP :welcome:
Paige x

leeannes
17-05-11, 21:43
Hey welcome, i have just started taking the same tablets as you (I took my first one this morning), i felt sick for about 3-4 hours but i now feel ok, my doctor did warn me i would possibley feel worse for a few weeks but im not sure what will happen. i willkeep you postd of how i feel with mine if u would like me to, im nervous about how they will helop me to

RhyannonDorothy
18-05-11, 10:35
Hi guys, thankyou for all the replies.
I took my first 20mg Tablet this morning and i can honestly say i feel horrible.
I have the shakes and keep going really dizzy, and the dry mouth is terrible. I feel like there is something stuck in my throat aswell "/