PDA

View Full Version : affirmation :)

amyeyes
19-04-06, 15:30
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the forum, my names Amy and I'm a student in Birmingham, so first of all, hi there to everybody!

Let's see, where do I start with my moaning lol ;), I nearly lost two people very close to me in december, and in february, I had a really bad panic attack, totally convinced myself I was having a stroke, then that I had angina...I went to the doctors, who told me nothing physical was wrong, I then went to a therapist at my univerisity, and I'm still waiting for another appointment, they are very busy. The therapist told me that she thinks the events in december kicked off the panic attack, which seems to make sense.

Problem is, since that first panic attack I've had almost constant chest pains, which I only notice when I'm not distracted, and occasionally when I'm relaxed and happy, I get coarsing bolts of fear and anxiety and start shaking, dry mouth etc...all symptoms of panic attacks, and I can stop myself from freaking out as I know what it is, but it frequently causes me to lose a whole nites sleep.

I've always been a worrier, but since december it's gotten much worse, for example, once my boyfriend was an hour late home from work, and his phone wasnt on, so I assumed something terrible had happened and went totally mad...It's completely uncontrollable, and I have to call any of my friends if they're driving/getting the bus home from anywhere just to check they're ok. Sometimes I think that the panicky feelings and chest pains are only happening because I expect them to happen.