PDA

View Full Version : I am so afraid of HIV.

poor-sparrow
26-05-11, 22:23
Hi everyone, I am a 24 yr old woman. Here is some info about myself:

I am quite an anxious person in general, and once in a while I tend to have these huge anxieties related to my health. Whenever this happens, I lose sleep, am miserable, can't concentrate, and feel compelled to obsessively research whatever it is I am frightened of.
I think this anxiety stems from two things, the first being my education. I am a biomedical sciences graduate and am going to medical school in the autumn, so obviously I have spent years studying disease and am more aware of what's out there. Secondly, I lost two grandparents, quickly and unexpectedly within a short period of time. This was my first experience of loss and it totally freaked me out... one minute they were ok, the next minute they were dead. Sounds stupid but it made me realise I was mortal, and all those diseases I'd read about in books actually happened to real people.