PDA

View Full Version : Where has my brain gone?!

existential crisis
21-04-06, 13:10
Hey - I havent been on here for a while as I have been doing pretty well but there is something that continues to niggle me that I would like some of your views on. Basically, my concentration is shot to ****. And my short term memory is worse than a goldfish's. Despite finally getting it through my head that anxiety is caused by thinking errors and living a normal and quite active life now, with not much fear of going out and doing things anymore, I find that I still suffer quite badly with terrible concentration/memory problems. It completely freaks me out. I used to be a high performing student and an articulate and chatty person but now I can hardly hold a conversation because my mind either wanders or I just cant keep up with what people are saying to me. God help anyone who wants to tell me something that is quite complex - I just cant seem to get my head around the simplest things. It's getting me down a bit because I cant see me ever being able to go back to uni or get a job if my concentration stays this bad.
I was on the phone to my friend this morning and we were discussing something and I just couldnt follow what she was saying. It's like I cant have a conversation anymore - there is no natural flow to it because I just cant effing concentrate! I'm bloody mixing my words up and stuttering and just generally struggling. I'm writing this now and I'm not quite sure what I'm on about! [Duh!]
It's getting to the point when I sometimes feel like I dont really know what I'm doing because it's so bad I get quite confused. It's like I am so inside my head that I cant concentrate on anything but NOT being able to concetrate - this in turn starts of a cycle of frustration and agitation. Also, I forget quite important things because it's like all I can concentrate on is what's going on with me and my head. I'm starting to feel like a pretty selfish person, tbh. :(