PDA

View Full Version : Panic Attacks - All anxiety or drug use?

leonboucher
06-06-11, 06:20
Hey everyone, I've never posted on a message board like this before, but I was really looking for some opinions and help. So here's my story. I'll try to be as brief as possible. I'm male, soon to be 23, from the US.

Here's a summary of my story: From like 18-21 I used to party and drink a few weekends out of the month. (enough to get me drunk, sometimes blackout) The summer I turned 21 I studied abroad in France and started drinking like a bottle of wine a day. When I got back, I didn't drink that much but I drank most every day. I realized I was gaining weight so I decided to switch to marijuana (no calories). So I became a pot head for a few months, and then I talked to my friend who has anxiety. He took an SSRI, so I thought I would go to my doctor because I thought I might have anxiety too. (restlessness, uncontrollable thoughts, etc) I got put on Celexa. A week into I was smoking weed and had an anxiety attack for the first time. I thought it could just be a side effect of Celexa starting and so I kept on it and kept smoking and didn't have any more panic. The following summer (last summer) I started drinking a lot, nearly everyday, partying a lot. I had graduated college and was looking for a job and couldn't find one. I experimented with some ecstasy and LSD, but only for short periods of time. LSD I hated and made me freak out so I didn't ever do it again. I slowed down on the drinking at the beginning of this year and pretty much just smoked weed. (kept the drinking to the weekends again pretty much) And then all of a sudden I started having panic attacks while smoking. I tried just smoking less and no matter what I would get panicky from the pot. So I stopped smoking and just drank some more. Then in February, after not having drank for about a week, maybe a little less I had a really bad panic attack. It started when all of a sudden it felt like I couldn't bre