PDA

View Full Version : New to this. Anxious and feeling down.

Nicah
12-06-11, 23:25
Hey. I'm new to this.
I cant cope with feeling anxious and panicked anymore!! I'm only 19 and I feel as if I'm going to be feeling like this for the rest of my life! I do have a heart condition although I have had an ECG a few times in the past 2 weeks and my heart is normal (for me). I have a beautiful 10 month old baby girl and I cannot understand why I'm feeling like this! All day everyday I concentrate on my breathing and most of the time I feel I'm not breathing properly.. I often get dizzy from concentrating on my breathing so much. I also have a HUGE fear of dying, I've only started feeling like this since 2 weeks ago. I am terrified most nights of going to sleep and not wakening up, not being able to see my baby ever again. Eventually I do sleep but only to wake up the next morning feeling exactly the same. I've been to the doctors and not once have I felt I could mention this fear/anxiety/panic, I'm scared incase they think I'm crazy! Anyone else feel like this? Any replies would be very much appreciated :blush:

diane07
12-06-11, 23:26
Hi Nicah

A huge warm welcome to nmp.

You'll get loads of advice and support here and make some lovely friends along the way.

Best wishes

Merewyn
12-06-11, 23:39
Hi Nicah,
Having a baby is very stressful and may have triggered your underlying tendency to anxiety. You might also be suffering from post natal depression.
Please go to your GP and tell him, or if you don't feel able to, please speak to your Health Visitor she should be able to help you. Neither will think you stupid - lots of women feel very anxious or depressed after the birth of a baby.
On a positive note...given time and sympathetic help you will get better.

Merewyn (retired Midwife & Health Visitor)

Klonoa
13-06-11, 15:21
I agree with Merewyn!