PDA

View Full Version : blood tests and cancer

snowgoose
05-07-11, 16:30
Hi :)
have seen a lot of posts recently that ask if blood tests show up cancer .and some not wholly true replies .
First off .....I am not a doctor ...but have worked in the NHS for a long time .
so happy to be corrected and emphasise this is general information and DOES not mean you dont see your doctor for more in depth information .

Ask your doctor what blood tests he/she is doing .........it is important .
Some are for general health indicators and others are what we call tumour markers /blood clot /heart attack etc tests .

The full blood count is common and will show up warning signs of cancer in leukaemia and lymphoma if present and a huge other range of things like anaemia and infection or bleeding problem .
The other test U and E looks at the function of your kidneys and the levels of electrolytes in your blood [potassium and sodium etc ] ..........again can be an indicator ...........but has a vast range of other things that can be wrong .
it does not tell if cancer is present on its own .

same with liver function tests .
there are others that look for inflammation in the body system like CRP and ESR.... .again something the doctor will follow up .......but not saying cancer .

tumour markers have a bit more weight of course ...........which is why you should know if your doctor has ordered this .

Now then to conclude my husband has had tumour markers back high and we have had an awful time waiting for results from biopsy :weep:
the answer ? no malignancy .something is going on..........but not cancer thank goodness . so even these are not 100% accurate cancer diagnosis x

so no blood test can stand on its own without a full history and examination by your doctor and further tests like biopsy or scan .

trust your doctor xxx

nomorepanic
05-07-11, 16:37
Thanks for that Snow