PDA

View Full Version : Is this OCD?? please someone reply, im worried im going insane.

jen2503
24-07-11, 11:39
Hiya,

Im new to this section, i originally come from the health anxiety section! But thankfully i have overcome my health anxiety to the extent where i can live a normal life at the moment, i dont freak out at the drop of a hat ect which is great but....

i appear to be left with what may seem like a germ phobia type thing! i will explain what i mean so it may hopefully make more sense lol

i dont like germs, i dont like chemicals, i dont like dirt. now the problem is i get a bit funny about germs being in my eyes! if i have been cleaning i have to scrub my hands a few times with anti bacterial handwash before i can relax as i worry that if i itch my eye i will get germs in them and go blind! i am the same about germs, if i change my babies nappy i have to make sure my hands are scrubbed afterwards.

its making it a bit annoying to do housework, i have to clean to get rid of germs but then i have to clean my hands to get rid of cleaning chemicals.

another thing, my dog has sore skin at the moment, he is a staff and has a skin condition, not harmful to humans, i know this but i cant touch him, i cannot bring myself to stroke him in case i get infected with something!!

is this OCD? or is it the beginning of OCD? I used to have afear of blindness and i think the germ thing is coincided with that for some reason and its starting to annoy me. like i said, im not anxious as such, i dont have panic attacks anymore, i dont freak out at little things, i dont worry im dying but i do feel the need to be clean and i hate it.