PDA

View Full Version : Does anxiety affect your fertility?

Almost_there
29-07-11, 06:29
Hi everyone, just a question if being anxious can affect fertility? I'm trying for a baby but can get quite anxious at times about silly things, at the moment i'm concerned being worried about getting pregnant can affect fertility if it makes any sense! i hope it doesn't and i can get pregnant easily so i hope to hear some positive examples from people:)
I heard often that people tried and tried and because they were so tense about it they couldn't get pregnant and once they've stopped trying and given up they got pregnant! kind of scary to think my thoughts can influence my fertility...:blush:

looking4answers
29-07-11, 08:09
Nope I wouldnt think so but if you were so anxious as to not get stimulated you might not be able to ovulate and that might be a problem but life finds a way. I really would think that it could affect your fertility but then again im not a doctor. I think just try to relax and things will be ok.

amandaj
29-07-11, 09:55
i dont think it affects it as ive always been anxious and ive got 4 kids now good luck xx

Almost_there
15-09-11, 07:13
thank you! it's just often you hear that stress affects fertility so i'd assume anxiety would as well but then i suppose every person on this earth has a bit of hat so we all wouldn’t be here if that were true right?:)

xxlisaxx08
15-09-11, 14:02
If stress was affecting your fertility you wouldn't have periods. That would be the only way it would affect it. I know plenty of anxious people who have gotten pregnant. I hope everything works out for you.

Goodluck!

Lisa x

kibbutz83
15-09-11, 17:04
Hi, my anxiety kicked in after I'd had my son, and for the last 18 years (he's 18)
I think it's after you give birth that the anxiety really kicks in! Good luck :)

chappers1980
03-06-13, 11:32
I read that stress and anxiety doesn't but depression does because it lowers your immune system therefore the viability is less.