PDA

View Full Version : I feel worse on increased dose of diazepam

chrissie1
30-07-11, 20:01
Having been suffering from severe anxiety, delusional thoughts and hallucinations for over a year I finally found out I was in severe tolerance and withdrawal from diazepam which I have been using on an "as needed" basis for about 15 years.
After taking advice from B.A.T. I increased my daily dose which varied between 2.5mg per day to 5mg per day to sometimes nothing - in order to stabilize before starting to taper it slowly. I settled on 8.75 per day as on anything less I was falling apart.
I felt horrible when I started taking it all the time and three weeks on I still do!
I have been told it can take a while for the body to adjust but I still feel terrible when I take it! I get ringing in my ears, increased anxiety, headaches, weird head sensations and my thoughts start to spin.
When I used it on an "as needed basis" it never caused this reaction, and I am quite worried that it isn't going to settle down.

One day whilst trying to stabilise I tried taking a larger dose at bed time and I was awake nearly all night with muscle spasms in my stomach, tingling and increased anxiety. I went back to spreading my dose out but it still makes me feel awful.

Has anyone else had this experience with diazepam? I can't be allergic to it as I used it for about 15 years but only on an "as needed" basis.

I have a long taper ahead as I am doing small cuts-I started three days ago and have felt pretty bad with that but I was hoping I might feel ok in between cuts.Now I am wondering.....

Chem
01-08-11, 12:14
It sounds like you are trying to do this alone, which is not a good idea with Diazepam. If I were you, I'd see your doctor and work out a properly supervised withdrawal.

chrissie1
01-08-11, 12:28
No I am not actually. I have the help of my GP and an online benzo support group. I am doing a properly structered taper,