PDA

View Full Version : Books

strawberry1756
04-08-11, 08:40
Hi does anyone know any good biographys about anyone who has suffered with bad anxiety and then recovered? Thanks

pia
04-08-11, 09:37
No, But im thinking of writing one- when i recover!
Be interesting to read one though, let us know if you find anything.
xxx

Horse
04-08-11, 11:19
I have been considering writing one for the past 6 months.

Not so much as someone who has suffered and is now cured (which I am not), but from a point of view of coping with living with the illness for over 40 years.

In my opinion, Anxiety is a very personal problem which can and will manifest itself in a multitude of symptoms and therefore affect an individual with various degrees of intensity, all of which are unpleasant and to a certain degree in control of most of our lives on a daily basis.

I have lost count of the Doctors, Psychotherapists, Psychiatrists, etc, etc, that I have seen over the years starting from the age of 14 up until now at 57 and I do not think there has been a single one which has not given me a bottle of pills to swallow in order to try and cure me. Needless to say, none of these has had any effect apart from making me a zombie!

Fifteen years ago I started to study Psychology (before my Anxiety was bad enough to restrict my going to college). I discovered more about why I was feeling the way I was than any 'professional' had ever told me and I also discovered that I knew more about the terrible illness than most so called experts (with endless letters after their name) could ever claim!