PDA

View Full Version : Finally plucked up the courage!!

GarryA
15-08-11, 14:18
Afternoon :)

I am Garry, 23, live in Wiltshire and i am currently riding the roller coaster of obsessive and obtrusive thoughts :huh:

I don't want to bore you with my whole life story/background so i will only touch on this a little and how i feel at present:

So, my grandma was a compulsive worrier and so was my mum, this was clearly passed on to me which i only made aware to myself about a week ago when i plucked up the courage to tell my mum i had been smoking weed for 3 - 4 years... and was going cold turkey! Bearing in mind this was irregular (once a week if any), till i moved in with my best mate two years ago and it became frequent (3 - 4 times... a night :scared15:)

Looking back, i feel the anxiety started a long time ago but at the time was in denial and only until i had a lot on my plate i realized (after looking online - good/bad move?) that i may have a problem.

The symptoms are vast and i can hold my hand up and tick the box for many, but i will list the main ones that i feel i suffer with:

- Fatigued
- No energy during the day but awake when i need to sleep
- Sleep but wake up 4 - 5 times throughout the night, sometimes sweating
- I feel like i am going to pass out at work sometimes
- I have waves of hot and cold
- I find myself shaking and trembling if i decide to be excited
- Dramatic mood swings which can be mid conversation when i want to escape
- Emotions are all over the place
- I fear what people may think of me
- I fear any kind of confrontation
- I fear i may make a fool out of myself
- I become overwhelmed in public places - pubs etc
- I fear losing control
- I obsess with negative thoughts which leaves me stressed with a knot in my stomach
- Very impatient and my leg is always on the move (its going now!)
- Feel down in the dumps and edgy
- I fear being alone