Thread: Anxiety "trap"

Unhappy Anxiety "trap"

I'd be very grateful if anyone can suggest the best course of treatment for me, because I'm at my wits' end. I feel trapped and exhausted by my anxiety, which has become increasingly obsessional.

The regular trigger for my anxiety is any mechanical or electronic breakdown at home -- or just the prospect of one. I continually dwell on memories of very unpleasant feelings that I've had when facing these in the past, even if the outcome was fine. My brain frantically searches for ways to avoid repetitions in the future but, of course, it isn't possible to avoid all potential setbacks, and I don't believe that I can alter my response, so I just end up feeling even more anxious, vulnerable and despairing about my situation.

Ironically, I'm a professional engineer, so my fears about technology aren't unfounded. Indeed, I probably have too much understanding of technical pitfalls, problems and worst-case scenarios.

I've always had perfectionist tendencies, but I seem to have become much more obsessive lately. I now feel compelled to carry out certain rituals (virus scan the computer, make backups etc.) on a precise schedule to try to avoid "trouble", even if these conflict with other things that I'd like to do. I've even returned from holiday early because I've known that software updates are due!

Most recently, I've been feeling tired and run down from this recurring cycle of worry and obsessive actions, and I'm despairing at my inability to see a way out of this prison of anxiety which is partly self-constructed.

I've had some counselling and CBT in the past, but although these helped me to understand better what's going on, I don't seem to have taken them on-board well enough to reduce my underlying anxiety. Indeed, I'm confused about whether it's the symptoms of anxiety or another underlying cause that I should be addressing.

Please do let me know if you have any ideas on how I might tackle this.