Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fear

Fear

Hi there,

I have a 9 year old mare whom I have had since she was 4. After various falls I became terrified; frozen with fear when on her; I have worked relentlessly over the last 5 years to combat this and just when we make progress something happens. I have an exceptional relationship with her on the ground - second to none - we are good friends and play well together. But I cannot transfer this to her back. I have tried touch field therapy and hypnosis and although this helped initially, it wasn't long before my irrational fear took over.

I know that she is a good horse; I know I should trust her; I know the more nervous I get the more panic she feels and so on. You will no doubt have heard this all before.

This is my last try! I have 5 weeks until I have a master class with Richard Maxwell. I wanted to ask how to improve my canter. But all I will be able to do at this rate, is long rein.

I have a very good instructor with, as you can imagine, fantastic patience. She assures me that I am a very good rider and in my head I know this to be true. When I dismount I can imagine myself doing everything I want to do, but as soon as I get on board I freeze!

Can you do anything?

Thanks

Wendy

Wendy

Hi Wendy

Welcome to the forum.

Im sure you will find advice & help on here with the fear you describe.

Take Care

Alex

Many People Will Walk
    In & Out Of Your Life
    But Only True Friends
    Will Leave Footprints
    In Your Heart

hello Wendy.When these irrational fears hit,be it ,horse riding or driving or going to the shops!It hits hard,i think cbt may work well for you,it is not a quick fix however and you may have to repeat your master class.The more you push yourself when in an anxious state the worse you feel as you are waiting to react to your fear.Have you read the first steps post on the main forum,this will give you spme good ideas too,love mary-rose.xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx