Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My success story :) so far....

My success story :) so far....

Hello,

I've not visited NMP in almost a year... and what a year it has been!! I feel bad for not being around but i hope in reading this you can understand why. I am back now to share with everyone my success story in the hope it can help others.. even just to show that there can be light at the end of the tunnel.

This may be long winded, i may say things which seem irrelevant, but bare with me and u will see where i'm going....

Last year I suffered my very first panic attack, whilst at work, which was triggered by being verbally abused by a man. As I work as a nurse, I am in the firing line for many emotions that people feel, and I am trained to deal with it. However, on this occasion I was completely unprepared for it, not wanting to sound like i am 'passing the buck' but the situation I was receiving abuse about was nothing to do with me. So I was completely caught off guard as at the time I was trying to deal with some seriously ill people who were relying on me. I tried to carry on with my job but couldn't hold back the tears, i went to get a drink of water and compose myself.. then it happened, as soon as a concerned work collegue asks if i'm ok... BANG hyperventilating, pulse racing, light headed. My first panic attack.