Thread: Newbie here... Breathing issues??

Newbie here... Breathing issues??

Hello Everyone...

This is my first ever post!

So... I've always been a "worrier". When I was a teenager it was on the news that mobile phones can give you a brain tumor - so naturally I was convinced I had one. Every year I'm convinced that Swine Flu is an unavoidable fate - I haven't had it yet though! You get my drift... Lol!

So, my GP has diagnosed me with having an anxiety problem.

My Dad died unexpectedly in January and ever since I've become more and more obsessed with my health.

I'm aware that I'm doing it - I know I'm being irrational and silly but that doesn't stop me from working myself into a complete state.

The most common theory is that my heart is going to give out at any moment... I'm 27 and apart from being overweight I'm pretty healthy, don't smoke/drink etc.

Lately - this past 2 weeks really, I've developed this weird deep breathing thing..?

It started out as a slight feeling that I couldn't breathe in properly... Like there was a slight obstruction in my windpipe - or that my throat was slightly more closed over than usual.

So naturally I jumped straight in at the deep end - tumor in my throat, lung cancer - my personal fave, heart problems again. And, after a few days I noticed that I seemed to be sighing a lot more than usual?

Then a few days later it seemed like I was doing it constantly! I don't know what it is - I have this constant urge to suck as much air into my lungs as possible?!

I have my little "episodes" where I think - "Oh God, there is something wrong with me, I'm not imagining it, there is definitely something wrong" and I take these massive slow gulps of breath like it's going to help me but I'm sure it's making me worse.