Thread: A surprisingly good CBT session

A surprisingly good CBT session

Hi everyone,
    Had my second CBT session today in about 4 weeks and it's been surprisingly good and encouraging.

When I've done CBT before, I used CBT tables that I've had to make up myself.

They'd consist of the titles; Date, experiment, anxiety and believe % before hand, outcome, what I have learnt and anxiety and believe after %.

This is what I'm currently doing now. However, today, I've been introduced to thought record diary. Very interesting. I record everytime I feel anxious about something, and upcoming event. I look at why I feel anxous about, what's the worry etc. I give my anxiety a percentage rating. Then,I look at Evidance for this anxious thought and evidenace against it. Then exploring balanced thoughts, challenging my current thoughts and beliefs and what I can do to give myself reasurance etc.

I've never done this before. I think this will be of real benefit to me. I'm being sent some copys of the thought record diary on e-mail to crack on with.

Best of all; while my anxiety levels have been bad and I've been anxious every single day about a particular upcoming event I expected my GAD scale to be worryingly high. However, went through it and my anxiety levels are recorded at 7. We double checked that as well and everything I stated and councellor written down was true. we still came up with 7. I'm very surprised and, well, the relife. It's given me a boost for the rest of the evening. Maybe the weekend

Is anyone familliar with thought record diaries? and other methods used in CBT?

Re: A surprisingly good CBT session

Yes Ive done these. They are fantastic. You will find you dont need to write them down after a while. I do mine automatically in my head now.