Thread: Eating out phobia

Eating out phobia

This is my first time on this Forum and it's been great to read that I'm not the only one is the world with problems!

I can identify with the people who hate the hot weather (phew what a scorcher - can't wait for the heatwave to end!) and also with those who are terrified of eating out.

That's how my panic attacks started over 20 years ago and I then developed a phobia about eating in 'unsafe' places which I've never really been able to combat. It limits my life to the extent that I find it difficult to travel far from home because I will have to eat something and that causes me to panic.

I understand the physiology of panic - it's just an adrenaline rush and I'm not going to die - but I feel that I am never going to change. I've tried tranquillisers and relaxation therapy as prescribed by my doctor but neither really seemed to work.

Some friendly advice would be very nice. Thanks

have you wrote about yourself in the introduce yourself section as so many people will read that first and welcome you on board

im so glad you found us and hope you feel less alone soon

jackie

Maybe you could slowly expose your "outdoor eating" to help you overcome.

Can you eat in your back garden in the company of friends?

If you can do that, maybe you could eat in a local pub garden with friends.

See what I mean - can you work out a strategy of how you could face up to this in very small stages.

Ray
    http://www.anxietyrelease.org.uk/

And when you get the choice to sit it out or dance, I hope you dance.
    ~Mark Sanders and Tia Sillers

Ray

Thanks for your interest. The difficulty is that I don't really have anyone who can help me overcome this - I have to do it alone.