Thread: Strangers are better than possible new friends?

Strangers are better than possible new friends?

I work in the hospitality industry. I talk to strangers (and regulars that I know well) all day everyday at work. I am so good at my job. I connect with 99.9 percent of the guests I deal with. I can chat so freely and easily with them.

BUT put me in a social setting and I cannot say a word.

The way I interact with the guests at work affects my pay and my job. Is that why I am so good at it?

Do I lack care of my social well being?

Re: Strangers are better than possible new friends?

Perhaps it's because in a social setting there's a sense of vulnerability in entering into a frienship that may require more of you than just superficial talk about the weather etc that you can get away with when talking to your guests.
    When talking to your guests there are boundries in that you know there'll never be conversations of a nature that require you to reveal the deeper parts of your self.
    Just some thoughts I don't know if any of this rings true for you

Vicky, yes! When I read that I literally said "yes" out loud. That makes perfect sense. I never think about things wholly or from the many different angles that are always possible. Thanks for sharing and pointing it out to me like that. =)

jca, I'm the same. A lot of the time I can talk to strangers freely, but the moment there is the pressure of a possible relationship I clam up. I think it really confuses people because if I meet someone and act normal, and suddenly I'm in a situation were we have to go beyond an initial meeting then I'll quickly withdraw. It's like a clam snapping shut in response to a threat. It' very frustrating and confusing.

I'm glad to see I'm not the only person who does this, it's an odd one isn't it?

ding dong - a big ringing sound of recognition here too.