Thread: Hello! New member here - Health anxiety made worse after having baby

Hello! New member here - Health anxiety made worse after having baby

Hi everyone. Can i start off by saying its nice to read all these posts and discover im not alone in the way ive been thinking.

I think I'm suffering from some kind of health anxiety. I frequently worry about getting diseases, mainly cancer, and sometimes worry about family and friends getting ill. I spend a lot of time 'Googling' symptoms and worrying i might have something. I never actually go and see any medical practitioners, and i try and be rational - i actually work for the NHS and I'm currently studying epidemiology, so I'm know quite a lot of stats about diseases and how unlikely i am to have most of the things i worry about, but that doesn't seem to help!
    Ive normally been able to push these thoughts away, but since giving birth to my daughter in february, they have started to take over my life!

Its mainly because i somehow lost weight during my pregnancy, im now 1 1/2 stone lighter than my pre-preg weight and i dont know how this happened! Most people put on loads of weight during pregnancy. I am convinced i have cervical cancer because im overdue a smear (because of pregnancy) and cant have one for another 6 weeks. I had some abnormal cells removed last year. Now ive also had a headache for 3 weeks, at the back of my head which i think is a brain tumor. Ive also had no appetite since giving birth, i have to force food down me and i feel sick a lot.