Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Pure O

Pure O

Hi - can anybody tell me what meds are good for this condition other than SSRIs?

Have not been diagnosed with this but feel I have suffered with this mildly for years - Prozac stopped it, but no longers works and the thoughts have come back. Long story but SSRIs are not suiting me at all.

Wonder if anyone could help. Seeing a psychiatrist soon but would be interested in any information/medications on it.

Thanks in advance

Laura

Re: Pure O

Hi Laura, I'm no doctor, but I know someone who was on clomipramine (one of the older tricyclic ADs) for his OCD and he said it worked like magic.

He's since moved onto Paroxetine, I think because of the fewer side effects.

Hope that helps.

Thanks Mr Red - I have heard of the former one being used for this but the other one is an SSRI isn't it?

Yes it is, otherwise known as Seroxat. Reason I mentioned that was to point out the thing about side effects - I think they're generally worse with the older tricyclics.

Other than those, and SSRI/SNRIs, I'm not sure.. would something like Pregabalin work on O/OCD? I think I saw a thread asking that very question on here a while back...

Hi - thanks for that - trying to diagnose myself - lol - see what the "expert" has to say"

How are you feeling today?

---------- Post added at 19:24 ---------- Previous post was at 19:23 ----------

He'll need his Nurofen that day - Im sure!

Clomipramine - gold standard for OCD

I haven't been too bad today. Just really really tired and a bit jittery. I actually had a nap and felt very calm! I have a headache now though, I hope it's just a random one and not a side effect.

Are you not going to try Venlafaxine?

Thanks both for your information.

Hope you have a good nights - I am off now to la la land! Well I take longer now to get there! Used to drop off really quick!

Speak to you soon

Laura

Hi Laura,