Thread: 1 big thump in heart

1 big thump in heart

Hi, i am new to this. I have been feeling for 2 years now these big forceful thumps in my chest that happen 1 at a time and about 3 per minute. That is when i have severe episodes of it. When there is not an episode i may feel 1 big thump during the day. My heart does not beat fast at all, i think it is beating normal and then all of the sudden boom i feel that stupid beat. This problem has really got controll over my life as i am always worried of getting them. Is there anything i can do to stop this completely? I cannot live like this anymore, I am 29 years old and used to be active in sports and now i fear to do anything. Someone please advise on what i can do

Thanks

Re: 1 big thump in heart

Hi Jonathan,

I hope you are okay. sounds like you have something similar to what I have had for years...I hope i have understood you correctly.

Every month, maybe every 2 months, I have a palpitation. I will suddenly feel 1, 2 or 3 heartbeats, i feel it thump hard, i hear it in my ears almost, i have to stop what im doing to let it pass....it feels like my heart just raced or threw in extra hard beats for no reason, but my heartbeat actually has not change. Does this seem similar to what you have?

2 years ago, they really increased to several times a week, then everyday so i had tests done, and wore an ecg overnight, just my luck they caught nothing other than a regular heartbeat, and i didnt have a palpitation when i wore the ecg tape. I was very active at gym and very fit. There was no cause found, I was advised its just a palpitation, nothing to worry about, nothing serious, its not my heart beating faster, it is me momentarily becoming very aware of the beats. Anyway, then life went back to normal. I still get them, and they still creep me out, but for me its part of life now as i have had them maybe 10 years, and i am 28. when its over i carry on doing what i was doing like i never had it.