Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My doctor has said I'm dependent on Valium

My doctor has said I'm dependent on Valium

I have been using Valium for about 4 years on an "as needed" basis. I do this to help me go out and enjoy a social life occasionally as I used to be a roombound agoraphobic. Anyway, I have changed to a new GP surgery as I've moved house, and they won't let me have Valium anymore because apparently I am "dependent" and about to get "addicted." Their words not mine.

I jot down in my diary when I use a Valium to make sure I don't take it too often. In May I have taken it one time so far. In April, last month, I took it three times over the entire month. I think the doctor is being totally hysterical but I have had two second opinions and they all agree that I should not be allowed it.

I have no history of addiction or abuse. Being able to have a Valium allows me to take risks and do things that I would not usually do. I have always been responsible with them. I have tried various antidepressants but Valium is the one thing that really does help.

Does anyone have any thoughts? I want to still be able to have the option of Valium on an occasional basis but I take it that those three opinions mean I am not allowed????
    Last edited by grotbags; 08-05-12 at 16:36.

Re: My doctor has said I'm dependent on Valium

Apparently there is a big "drive" on at the moment to stop GP's prescribing diazepam. Probably something to do with NICE guidelines??

It certainly doesn't sound to me like you are reliant or addicted to them.

Of course Valium is addictive its common knowledge however sporadic use really shouldn't be seen as immediately assumption you are an addict!!!! You use it for quality of life so ...............
    I'd say see another Dr! You are free (I believe) in this country to see whichever Dr you wish not bound by registering and having to stick with them!!