Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Beta Blockers for my migraines

Beta Blockers for my migraines

Hi all,

I have just been prescribed beta-blockes to help reduce my migraines. I did use to take another pill everynight to prevent my migraines, but you are not allowed to drink with these pills, and although I am not a hard drinker its nice to have a glass of wine etc at the weekend. Plus they increased your appetite and I have felt I am putting on weight since taking these meds.

Anyway I am just not sure about taking beta-blockers.[:0]

Can anyone reassure me that they are ok to take and that there are not any bad side affects with them. I had a bad experience with some medications last year and I'm just a bit catious with new meds.

sadie

Hiya Sadie,

I personally haven't taken Beta Blockers (although I was prescribed them) and although I am no doctor/medical professional I think they are pretty safe. DO NOT take them if you have asthma. Like just about everything I suppose some people will experience side effects (though as I said I am no doctor) but it is just your anxiety making you worry about side effects (if u are anything like me!)
    Migraines are truly horrible Sadie so they must be worth a bash

I have taken them and they are fine - no side effects for me

Emily

Knowledge is knowing a tomato is a fruit
    Understanding is knowing not to put it in a fruit salad

hi sadie,there shouldnt really be any problems,taking beta blockers,and they will certainly help,with the migrains! they will slow your heart rate a little,which is good...and also lower your blood pressure a little,which is probably why the doctor prescribed them...take them matey...no problems!

best wishes...bryan.

Hi guys,

I have just read the leaflet with the beta blockers and its said not to take them if you experience m,issed heart beats and I think that I do. Well there are irregular at times...what should I do ?

Please offer advice.

sadie