Thread: Just been prescribed Mirtazapine

Just been prescribed Mirtazapine

Hi guys,

I've been feeling depressed for a while now and went to the doctor this morning. She has prescribed me with Mirtazapine (30mg) however I have no knowledge of this medication apart from what I've read on Google and that just seems to indicate that I will have vivid dreams and put on loads of weight. Has the weight loss happened to everybody? I am unhappy about my weight and managed to lose a couple of stone by going to the gym however I'm worried that this will set me back - I appreciate though that my health is more important than my waistline.

I'm taking my first one tonight, I might use this forum as a kind of diary if thats ok?

Mike

Re: Just been prescribed Mirtazapine

Not everyone gets vivid dreams from taking Mirtazapine. It helped me greatly with insomnia for quite a long time. I am not sure if Mirtazapine slows the metabolism down, I think it may do. I take it at night and get the munchies about 30 minutes after, but if you are aware of the possibility that it could cause weight gain, going to the gym will probably counter act it.

BobbyDog

I had weight gain and vivid dreams on Mirt but these were small things really in the great scheme of things since the drug was the most effective antidepressant I've ever taken. You can't put a price on mental health and if you put on a few stone and/or have some barmy dreams, that's a good trade IMO.

For me the peak of the dreams was 2 - 4 weeks in, after that they went back to normal, and I have to say they were not unpleasant (in fact I kept a dream diary!). As for the weight gain, I found that Mirt gave me the munchies and also made food SO enjoyable, so although you might get fatter, you'll enjoy doing it.

Some people here have reported that with some self control they have kept a stable weight with Mirt, so if you keep your gym regime up you may be OK.