Thread: MND/ALS fears

MND/ALS fears

Hi there, I am new to this however very sadly not knew to panic and sever anxiety. I am a healthcare worker so should know better but sometimes my job makes it worse. I can cope and deal well with everyone elses problems but not my own.
    Long story short- for years I have had various ssris and have had the most horrendous stress over the last few years in my life. I recently started reducing my ssri. After googling for some info on withdrawal and side effects i radomly came accross symptoms of motor neurone disease ie muscle fatigue (i feel so anxious I physically hold myself rigid and fasiculations (muscle twitches). My fear is so out of control I cant sleep or eat and have awful thoughts about dying and leaving my children. Although i realise the statistics suggest only about 2 in 100,000 people get it usually between 50 and 70 and it is thought more common in men i am convinced. My GP did a very quick nero test and said i didnt have symptoms but it just wont reassure me. I am very depressed right now and my anxiety is beyond belief.

Any advice anyone.
    Pocketnurse xx

Re: MND/ALS fears

I would trust your doctor, if he was in any way concerned he would have sent you for further tests. The symptoms you have are classic anxiety symptoms xx

Hi pocketnurse

We just wanted to welcome you aboard to NMP. We hope you enjoy your stay here and get all the support and advice you need.

Please take some time to read the website articles on the left as well for loads of advice and tips.

“Don't be afraid of death; be afraid of an unlived life. You don't have to live forever, you just have to live.” - Natalie Babbitt

Please help keep NMP running and donate to the running costs: http://www.nomorepanic.co.uk/donate

https://docs.google.com/viewer?a=v&q...2zQImeLsaY1TVQ

---------- Post added at 18:29 ---------- Previous post was at 18:21 ----------