Thread: tapering off 150mg Effexor.. FEEL HORRIBLE.

Thumbs down tapering off 150mg Effexor.. FEEL HORRIBLE.

This has to be the worst medicine i have ever taken. Im new to the meds, was hospitalized and put on 150mg and a med called Zyprexa.. my psychiatrist was baffled as to why i was put on this two meds. Said effexor was tough to get off and that is the truth. Struggling with this right now, anyone else?

Re: tapering off 150mg Effexor.. FEEL HORRIBLE.

Hey, how much are u reducing by each time, and for how long?

Quote Originally Posted by spawn View Post
    Hey, how much are u reducing by each time, and for how long?
    37.5mg pills Three times a day 1 week and 10mg Prozac,
    Two 37.5mg pills next week & 20mg Prozac,
    One 37.5mg pill the week after that 30mg Prozac.

As I found out, Venlafaxine is horrible as anything to come off. I was on 75mg twice a day and a GP cut my dose by half, after 2 yrs on it. 2 weeks later, literally overnight, I started crying, shaking, hyperventilating etc. My normal GP wasn't happy and put me back on my original dose, but it not working. Now have more medication to add to it :(

Been on this 12 years now (75mg once a day). It's brutal stuff to come off. You have to decrease dose very slowly to avoid the withdrawls. The longer you've been on it the slower you should taper off the dose. I'm just starting to decrease dose from today (1mg every 3 days lol). The trick i've discovered through trial and error (I hope. Results to come lol) is you have to become a bedroom chemist because the drug companaies want you to stay on it and GP's don't generally understand how to reduce this drug without the hideous side effects and o try too fast or try alternate days crap which doesnt work if you've been on it a long time. The withdrwawal effects are just too severe.