Thread: Diary?

Diary?

I was just wondering does anyone keep a diary and does it help? I know I kept one when I was doing CBT years ago but haven't taken it up again yet.

Do people find it useful?

Re: Diary?

Yes!

I have a notebook that I write in whenever I feel really stressed/anxious or have a new "symptom" that I'm worrying about. I call it my "magic notebook" because it not only helps me feel better right away, but I swear that within a week I feel better about the situation/symptom as a whole.

Plus, I can go back in later and read about what was worrying me in the past which gives me great perspective.

I've been keeping a diary since 2007. I find my thoughts catch up on me at night time when I want to go to sleep, and it can help to write it all out.

I don't write in it daily, sometimes I go over a month without writing in it at all, but I try to update it regularly.

I find it useful to go through it and see how things were in the past, see what I've come through and how things are improving. I also take it whenever I go away, so it's just nice to look back at my memories of things like that.

thanks guys, I will start one. I started CBT yesterday so will need to write things down more for that anyway.

Cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by Ineedlookingafter View Post
    I was just wondering does anyone keep a diary and does it help? I know I kept one when I was doing CBT years ago but haven't taken it up again yet.

Do people find it useful?