Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I've been prescribed Mirtazapine

I've been prescribed Mirtazapine

I'm very nervous about starting it, I'm not good with new medications after an allergic reaction to Citalopram and the tricyclic, Dosulepin gave me tachycardia.

Does anyone take this drug for anxiety? I'm not suffering from depression but the agoraphobia, post traumatic stress and anxiety is making me very low.

The GP said it can have cardiac affects so I'm a tad on edge. Also panicking about allergic reaction. I've also read it can cause aggressiveness:(

I feel constant anxiety even at home, then when I go out I have panic attacks, he thinks it'll really help. I'm a mum to 3 children, I really need to get better. I was attacked six months ago by my brother and I've been suffering with anxiety and agoraphobia since:(

Re: I've been prescribed Mirtazapine

First off, I want to say, I am sorry you went through such a harsh time. I feel for you, I really do.

Try the Mirtazapine, it WILL bring you back up, that I can promise. It's easy to start up, no real harsh side effects. Within 1-2 weeks, you should see process. Take it at night. Hang in there, you will feel better.

Hi Pearl
    I also want to say how sorry I am for what you've gone through.
    I suffer from GAD, but it escalated recently for not apparent reason so my doctor switched me from Citalopram to Mirtazapine. She prescribed it for anxiety, but recently I've been feeling really depressed - which I'm assuming is because of the continued anxiety/lack of sleep. It's taken a few months for it to work with me, but I haven't come across any side effects.
    Good luck, Sue x

Thank you so much for your kind reply. It's been tough, he had bullied me all year accusing me of calling social services as he was hurting his step son (which I didn't do) then September he attacked me and got arrested. My nan passed away last July too and I miss her terribly:(