Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on private CBT

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Advice on private CBT

I've been told I have GAD, and I'm on a waiting list with the NHS for CBT - have been for a couple of months. I'm not 100% sure, but I think they said when I do get to see/speak to someone it'll be a total of 6 weekly 1hr sessions.

I've been recommended a private therapist by a friend and they charge £75 for an initial 2hr session, and then £50 per 1hr session thereafter. Although some clients need less time, they say the average is 16-20 sessions. That would make it rather expensive - especially as I've just been made redundant.

I'm wondering if people can let me know their experiences of this.

Thank you, Sue x

Re: Advice on private CBT

Hi

Welcome to the site.

I have no personal experience of CBT but from what I have read makes a lot of sense. What has happened is the old mind has gone on the rampage by turning rational thoughts into irrational behavior. Its very good at that, as basically you have just lost control of your mind ( not lost your mind )

CBT analyses the perception of your thought process and tries to address the imbalance.
    Your mind is trying to turn any thoughts you have into negative one's and no matter how hard you try you end up giving in. This becomes a downward spiral.

This is an article I found hope it makes sense.