Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anxiety and Venlafaxine dose reduction

Anxiety and Venlafaxine dose reduction

Hi all,

I am a 23 year grad student. I have been an anxiety patient for 6 years now. Been on Venlafaxine for 5 years..on different doses.. 37.5-75-150 mg...have been back on 37.5 mg a day since the past 1.5 years..after having some personal setbacks in the past few months, my anxiety levels shot up, and had to depend on Lorazapam for a few weeks...I am now under psychotherapy and trying to reduce Venlafaxine further..I dunno why but I am sick of this drug..its been difficult to reduce my dosage and dependency without suffering some really scary withdrawal symptoms :(..

some of the worst symptoms I faced while reducing from 37.5 mg per day to 37.5 per 2 days included: Headaches,Confusion, really bad vertigo,Fatigue,Brain Shocks and general sadness and anxiety..its strange but these symptoms started after a week of my dose reduction..I hope I can make it and get rid of medication for good!

Cheers,
    Joe

Re: Anxiety and Venlafaxine dose reduction

Hi and
    I'm sorry that you are struggling but I'm sure you'll find support here.
    I don't have any experience of that particular med but I hope you find what suits you soon!
    J x

I have just read your post.....I'm worried I'm just on my third day of this med , PLEASE say its gonna help, have tried prozac, and mirtazapine. And could you tell me if there are many side effects to it also.

Hi Katie,