Thread: Newbie here! CBT, EMDR, Massages and Hypnotherapy! Phew!

Thumbs up Newbie here! CBT, EMDR, Massages and Hypnotherapy! Phew!

Hi there

Newbie here!

I've been suffering from anxiety since 03rd April this year and the most terrying symptom for me was the intrusive thoughts - I was terrified it meant I was going crazy and I would harm those closest to me! I got myself in to see a private psychologist who assured me this type of thinking 'is all part and parcel of being anxious' which went a long way to reassuring me. I still see her once a week and we have done a little bit of EMDR with CBT. As I have lost the fear of the thoughts they happen less and less and when they do I do not react at all!

I've not had a full blown panic attack since my first one in April and I believe that is because I have lost the fear of the physical symptoms and the fear of the intrusive thoughts. My only remaining concern is that my mind has been stuck on anxiety for two months and it's always on my mind. However I know the brain can be retrained and I have my first hypnotherapy appointment next week to begin that process! Will update accordingly on another thread.

I'm also having weekly massages which are lovely

My psychologist is a good one and below are some of the statements she has said that has stuck with me and hopefully can help you too:

"It is enough that you want to get better"
    "If you had measles, you wouldn't be continually freaked out about the spots so don't worry about physical symptoms of anxiety"
    "Recovery is not straight forward, it's a bumpy ride, if you have a bad day just take it as the usual in recovery"
    "Your anxiety will resolve"
    "Look at anxiety as a noisy neighbour... Just for now"