Thread: Citalopram - Poop out or dose too low ?

Citalopram - Poop out or dose too low ?

Hi all

I am a newbie so please be gentle with me.

I have been on and off of 10mg of citalopram for the past 3 years or so.

It was working fine, but just before xmas 2012 I experianced really bad anxiety each morning until lunchtime - after lunch I'd feel fine all the way through until next morning...when I'd feel anxious again until lunchtime...every day.

My doctors 'upped' my dose to 20mg. I had the usual horrible side affects which never settled down at all (I gave it 8 weeks, and after 8 weeks thought enough is enough and went back down to 10mg again.

Down to 10mg and the side affects were all fine again...but - guess what - the morning anxery is back with avengence.

I swapped taking my pill from mornings to night time - but this has not done anything at all for the morning anxiety.

I just find it strange that the anxiety 'stitches off' at lunchtime (as long as I havent spent the morning stressing about my morning anxiety)....its annoying.

Does this mean my 10mg isnt enough, or does it mean that I have pooped (but why am I ok in the afternoons and evenings)? or it is a morning 'chemical' thing, such as cortisol or low blood sugar?

Oh - and if I take a Mirtazipine (doctors gave me when I was having sideys on the 20mg), I am generally fine for a few days!!

Help?...any ideas?

Re: Citalopram - Poop out or dose too low ?

i havent experienced this myself when i was on cit for 18 months before, im now on 4 weeks of starting it again. but from what ive heard from other people, after a couple of years your body seems to get used to the dose and the anxiety comes back, they then normally up the dose and that solves the problem. before taking cit did you have the anxiety your having now